The Sidekick (Hardcover)

Audienta:
General
Limba:
Engleza
Nr. de pagini:
368
Dimensiuni:
16,3 x 24,3 x 3,7 cm
Publicat in:
02.06.2022
Editura:
ISBN:
9780571371525
123,00 Lei
Disponibil cu livrare intre 08 Jul - 20 Jul
Adauga in cos
Adauga in Wishlist
Adaugat in wishlist
The perfect novel for fans of The Last Dance, Hoop Dreams and Winning Time'Warm, humane, and tragic ... Somewhere in a golden triangle between Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes, Richard Ford's The Sportswriter, and David Shields' Black Planet.' JONATHAN LETHEMWhat seperates greatness from ordinary life? At his high school basketball try-outs, nerdy sports-obsessed Brian Blum meets new kid Marcus Hayes. What neither of them knows when they line up at the end of practice to shoot free throws is that Marcus will soon be living with the Blums, following his parents' messy break-up, and that he will go on to become an NBA star, the next Michael Jordan.

As sportswriter Brian spends the following twenty years tracking his friends' career, he remains Marcus' only link to his pre-fame life. And, as Marcus mounts his comeback after a couple of years out of the game, both men must face the tensions and disappointments of getting older. The Sidekick is the story of a friendship, of two lives bound together but fundamentally different, and of what it's like to live your life in the shadow of greatness.