The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley : The spellbinding tale of one young man's quest for the truth in 18th century London and Constantinople (Hardcover)

Audienta:
General
Limba:
Engleza
Nr. de pagini:
368
Dimensiuni:
14,5 x 22,4 x 3,8 cm
Publicat in:
09.06.2022
ISBN:
9780857528056
92,00 Lei
Disponibil cu livrare intre 08 Jul - 20 Jul
Adauga in cos
Adauga in Wishlist
Adaugat in wishlist
'[A] dashing, magical debut . . .

intricately plotted, and peopled with intriguing characters' Daily Mail'Fans of eccentrically flavoured historical fiction with a touch of magic are in for a treat' Metro'One of the best books I've read this year. Atmospheric, engaging, and elegantly written, this amazing tale of a clockmaker whose son possesses unusual talents is completely unforgettable...' Sunday Times bestselling author, Bonnie GarmusFOR FANS OF THE ESSEX SERPENT, THE NIGHT CIRCUS AND THE PERSONAL HISTORY OF DAVID COPPERFIELDZachary Cloudesley is gifted in a remarkable way. But not all gifts are a blessing...

Leadenhall Street, London, 1754. Raised amongst the cogs and springs of his father's workshop, Zachary Cloudesley has grown up surrounded by strange and enchanting clockwork automata. He is a happy child, beloved by his father Abel and the workmen who help bring his father's creations to life.

He is also the bearer of an extraordinary gift; at the touch of a hand, Zachary can see into the hearts and minds of the people he meets. But then a near-fatal accident will take Zachary away from the workshop and his family. His father will have to make a journey to Constantinople that he will never return from.

And, years later, only Zachary can find out what happened. A beautifully crafted historical mystery that will take the reader from 18th century London, across Europe and, finally, to the bustling city of Constantinople. What readers are saying:'an excellent historical, magical realist novel''beautifully written''full of love and humour''original and rich in historical detail''my best book of 2022''totally engrossing...unforgettable'